top of page

How I passed my CNA State Examination

First and foremost, I never planned to get a CNA license. Not until I entered a pathophysiology class that then I thought maybe the experience as a certified nursing assistant or nurse aide would help me in these future nursing classes that I am now and those to come later.

I enrolled in Ideal Nursing Institute of Dallas. The classes are said to last for 2 to 3 weeks, but due to so many things I was doing and also being sick for weeks, my classes lasted over a month. Which is not bad, the more learning and repetition, the better. At times my classmates will miss class or nobody will show up. At other times, I would be the only student "teaching" myself. One of the worst ways to learn, I believe (well...with lots of trial and error). After my month ended, I scheduled for my state examination; Lordy everything was booked for 2 months straight. Everyone and their momma (literally) are trying to get state licensed.

Classes continued. Second/third week of June comes around. Today is my exam day.

NERVOUS

The written exam was simply the most easy exam I have ever taken. I believe I made a 100 or somewhere in the 90s percentile. Questions were similar to:

~If a patient hits you, what are you suppose to do? Hit them back, Tell the nurse or Threaten them

~What is incontinence?

~What is hospice?

~if you witness abuse/are you suppose to talk about patients with other employees?

So questions like these. Easy right...? 50 percent common sense and 50 percent studying. Everyone in my group passed, except for ONE. It was her second retake! 'o'

My institution had many helpful practice tests that were very similar to the written exam. The school (I recommend enrolling in one) that you are in should and are suppose to have practice exams for you. In addition, use google to look up some practice exam questions. I personally typed in, "CNA written exam questions."

AND

The Skills are most peoples issues. So in my small group, many people failed the skills. I think the ratio was 5 to 8 that failed. It was really bad, but mostly sad. I was one of those people. I had received hand washing (everyone gets it), blood pressure (which I knew I messed up at because his BP was so faint), changing with effected side, stocking, and range of motion (shoulder).

I was so happy! I felt like I got the easy stuff and I did. You are allowed to miss only one skill. You are also timed to/about 30 min for all 5 skills. So knowing I missed the BP, I was not out of the game yet. As I did my next skill, changing the effected side, I used my right as opposed to his right (left) and not even notice. Then instead of changing his shirt, I put on another gown. BRIDGET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

In state, once you pass the written part, you will have an active status. Once the skills are passed then you will be in the Texas Nurse Aide registry. You are given 3 attempts to complete both, all while paying for each attempt.

I schedule my SKILLS retake. Of course everything is booked until upcoming months. I was already taking 13 credits this summer, Trigonometry, Medical terminology, Spanish 1 and Pathophysiology. My exam was the day after all my finals. I glanced through these skills videos right after my finals and the next day (2 days total) and that morning, I never even bothered to study anymore. I was going to wing it. I mean, I knew what I was doing. Nothing lost. Took my Skills.

PAssed.

Mind you, I had some really bad omen on my side. The girl that was my partner/patient did so horrible that I began second guessing myself. The instructor even asked me to demonstrate a skill (cleaning of the catheter) for her. Then once the scores arrived, the instructor told me my score sheet kept saying ERROR. You could imagine my face '_' after 30 minutes, same ERROR. I can't ever win, can I? As I patiently wait, she hands me my score sheet with a "Passed" on the top right. She winked and burst of excitement lit inside me. I had to call people.

I forgot to mention my skills this time included, hand washing, assisting to ambulate using transfer belt, radial pulse, modified bed bath, and range of motion-shoulder (same skill from the first time).

There are many videos to use on youtube for the skills section of the exam. The one that my institution played were M. Meyers. These videos saved my butt. They are what I watched for 2 weeks prior to my exam.

-And what I watched for 2 days for my retake-

Purchase these books, if your school/institution does not offer them.

Important details to remember/Notes:

1. B/P is Systolic 100-120

Diastolic 60-80

2. Respiration 12-20

3. Pulse 60-100

These all the ranges. Some people may be slightly less or more. I am usually within the range! Yay me!

4. Hand washing is always one skill (Get it right)

5. Mostly likely then not, you will have either radial pulse, BP or respiration

6. Mostly likely one range of motion will be asked of you

7. Do not miss the bold parts in the Nurse Aide candidate handbook, automatic fail.

8. Hospice is death related

9. Know the difference between medicare and medicaid

10. Know some diseases like GERD, COPD, AIDS

11. Know definitions like atrophy, NPO (nothing by mouth), dysphagia, circulatory vs. nervous system

12. 8oz =240 milli

13. Please when demonstrating on exam day, speak about what you are doing, just like the videos

14. Make a mistake? Speak up before you announce you are done with that one skill

15. Sleep and eat breakfast; you will have a break between both exams, eat!

16. Instructors are usually RNs

17. Most students wear scrubs, not a must

18. Most places have items set up for you (Dallas, Texas)

19. Do not be overly confident

20. Once you pass both, takes about 10 days for license to come to your house. Expires every 2 years, must be renewed by working at least 24 hours within those 2 years, I believe.

All the best.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
bottom of page